Dec. 3: Military airstrikes continue against ISIL terrorists in Syria and Iraq

Release No: UNRELEASED Dec. 3, 2014 PRINT | E-MAIL

December 3, 2014

Release # 20141203

TAMPA, Fla. - U.S. military forces continued to attack ISIL terrorists in Syria Dec. 1-3 using fighter and bomber aircraft to conduct 14 airstrikes. Separately, U.S. and partner nation military forces conducted 11 airstrikes in Iraq Dec. 1-3 using fighter, attack, and remotely-piloted aircraft against the ISIL terrorists.

In Syria, 14 airstrikes near Kobani destroyed an ISIL vehicle, 17 ISIL fighting positions, and an ISIL staging area. Also, those airstrikes suppressed eight other fighting positions and struck a large ISIL unit.

In Iraq, four airstrikes near Mosul destroyed five ISIL bunkers, two ISIL-occupied buildings, an ISIL vehicle, a ISIL fighting position and two heavy weapons. In addition, those airstrikes also struck a large ISIL unit and a tactical ISIL unit. Near Ramadi, two airstrikes destroyed four ISIL vehicles. Near Tal Afar, an airstrike destroyed an excavator and struck a tactical ISIL unit. Near Sinjar an airstrike destroyed four ISIL-occupied buildings and two ISIL tractor trailers. Near Hit, an airstrike destroyed an ISIL vehicle. Near al Qaim, an airstrike destroyed four ISIL vehicles. Near Fallujah an airstrike destroyed 12 ISIL vehicles, two ISIL weapon facilities and struck a tactical ISIL unit.

All aircraft returned to base safely. Airstrike assessments are based on initial reports.

The strikes were conducted as part of Operation Inherent Resolve, the operation to eliminate the ISIL terrorist group and the threat they pose to Iraq, the region and the wider international community. The destruction of ISIL targets in Syria and Iraq further limits the terrorist group's ability to project terror and conduct operations. Coalition nations conducting airstrikes in Iraq include the U.S., Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Netherlands and the United Kingdom. Coalition Nations conducting airstrikes in Syria include the U.S., Bahrain, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.