An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Press Release | Dec. 27, 2014

Dec. 27: Military airstrikes continue against ISIL terrorists in Syria and Iraq

December 27, 2014

Release # 2014127

SOUTHWEST ASIA - U.S. and partner nation military forces continued to attack ISIL terrorists in Syria Dec. 27 using fighter and bomber aircraft to conduct six airstrikes. Separately, U.S. and partner nation military forces conducted six airstrikes in Iraq Dec. 27 using fighter, attack aircraft, and remotely piloted aircraft against the ISIL terrorists.

The following is a summary of the strikes conducted since the last press release:

* Near Kobani, six airstrikes destroyed two ISIL buildings, five ISIL fighting positions, two ISIL vehicles and struck an ISIL fighting position.

* Near Al Asad, an airstrike destroyed an ISIL building and struck an ISIL tactical unit.
* Near Mosul, an airstrike destroyed an ISIL tactical vehicle.
* Near Fallujah, an airstrike destroyed two ISIL technical vehicles and struck an ISIL tactical unit.
* Near Al Qaim, two airstrikes struck an ISIL refinery and an ISIL tactical vehicle.
* Near Bayji, an airstrike struck three ISIL buildings.

Airstrike assessments are based on initial reports.

The strikes were conducted as part of Operation Inherent Resolve, the operation to eliminate the ISIL terrorist group and the threat they pose to Iraq, the region and the wider international community. The destruction of ISIL targets in Syria and Iraq further limits the terrorist group's ability to project terror and conduct operations. Coalition nations conducting airstrikes in Iraq include the U.S., Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Netherlands and the United Kingdom. Coalition Nations conducting airstrikes in Syria include the U.S., Bahrain, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.