An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Press Release | Oct. 27, 2014

Oct. 27: Military airstrikes continue against ISIL terrorists in Syria and Iraq

October 27, 2014

Release #20141032

TAMPA, Fla., Oct. 27, 2014 - U.S. military forces continued to attack ISIL terrorists in Syria Sunday and today using fighter and bomber aircraft to conduct four airstrikes. Separately, U.S. and partner nation military forces conducted seven airstrikes Sunday and today using fighters, attack and remotely piloted aircraft against ISIL terrorists in Iraq.

In Syria, four airstrikes near Kobani destroyed five ISIL vehicles and an ISIL occupied building. In Iraq, three airstrikes west of the Mosul Dam area struck a small ISIL fighting unit. One airstrike southeast of Fallujah struck a large ISIL unit, destroyed an ISIL building and damaged an ISIL vehicle. One airstrike south of the Bayji Oil refinery struck ISIL fighters. One airstrike south of Bayji struck a small ISIL unit and destroyed an improved explosive device. Finally, an airstrike east of Zumar struck a small ISIL unit and destroyed two ISIL occupied buildings. All aircraft departed the strike areas safely. Airstrike assessments are based on initial reports.

The strikes were conducted as part of Inherent Resolve, the operation to eliminate the terrorist group ISIL and the threat they pose to Iraq, the region and the wider international community. The destruction of ISIL targets in Syria and Iraq further limits the terrorist group's ability to project power and conduct operations. Among the coalition nations conducting airstrikes in Iraq are the U.S., France, United Kingdom, Australia, Belgium, Denmark and the Netherlands. Coalition nations conducting airstrikes in Syria include the U.S., Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, and Bahrain.